Friday, June 6, 2014

And the Search for Miss Bohol 2014 Is On!

 2000:  2nd RU Marecor Recio Tubigon, MBS Mellanie Wallace,
 1st RU Mutya Zamora Tagbilaran City
The search is on for Miss Bohol 2014, the province's ambassadress of goodwill. Interested parties may secure forms from Ms. Sarena Red Cabagnot of the Junior Chamber International (JCI) Chocolate Hills. 

The pageant, slated to be held on July 19, 2014 at the Bohol Wisdom School Gymnasium, is among the highlights of Bohol Sandugo Festival 2014. The committee is headed by Bohol First Lady and Balilihan Vice-Mayor Pureza Veloso Chatto as chair, with Tagbilaran City First Lady Jane Censoria Cajes Yap as co-chair.


No one can give the exact date or year when the most prestigious beauty competition in the province marked it debut as Miss Bohol. 

The earliest recorded Miss Bohol was on May 4, 1941. The pageant then evolved into The Most Beautiful Boholana Quest in 1976 to 1978 before reverting back to Miss Bohol"
1957: Olivia Solis of Calape was crowned Miss Bohol
the year a Boholano became Philippine president 
1977: L-R: 1st RU Antonette Biloy, Ms Bohol Ellen Campbell, 2nd RU Angie Pepito
My sister Marcel Gatal was named the 1983 winner

1988: Elizabeth Anana of Guindulman is the winner
It was renamed as Miss Young Bohol in 1983 when the pageant was handled by the Bohol Kabataang Barangay then headed by a very dynamic youth leader named Edgar M. Chatto who would later on be elected as Bohol Prov'l Governor.

It switched back to Miss Bohol in 1986 when it was relaunched by then OIC Governor Atty. Victor de la Serna and became Mutya sa Bohol in 1988.

It was re- introduced as Miss Bohol Fiesta Islands in 1989 to go with the Dept. of Tourism's Fiesta Islands marketing campaign before it metamorphosed into was is now known as Miss Bohol Sandugo in 1990. 
1992: Celevel Ranoco of Jagna is the Gen. Manager of
top global advertising agency, Saatchi & Saatchi- Singapore Branch
1990: Your Blogger  with Jagna's bet Tiffany Yap 
1994: Bambi Evardone is Miss Bohol Sandugo with Jenny Jamisola as 1st RU
The annual Miss Bohol Sandugo Pageant which is now firmly entrenched as THE mother of all pageants in the province is one of the highlights of the annual Sandugo festival and representatives from the city, municipalities and institutions vie for the most coveted crown every July during the Sandugo Festival.
1999: Two winners. One for Mutya ng Pilipinas & the other for Bb Pilipinas
2001: Vanessa Cadorna - Aumentado takes over when the winner
isn't able to finish her year of reign
2004: Only one winner Rhiz Arenas of Inabanga.
The four others were named Sandugo Princesses
2005 Miss Bohol Anna Maris Igpit 
is Bb Pilipinas World the next year
2011: Farah Mian gives Tubigon a back-to-back
2012: Idy Cagas gives Jagna its fifth
Miss Bohol Sandugo crown

Starting this year though, the pageant will go back to being Miss Bohol minus the appellation “Sandugo”. This is to highlight the name of the province and to distinguish it from the Miss Sandugo International to be staged next year. 
Reigning 2013 Miss Bohol Sandugo is Alicia's Brigett Burato
This would mean that the reigning queen Brigette Burato of Alicia will be the last of the Miss Bohol Sandugo queens for we will usher in a new era for Bohol’s most prestigious beauty search. The renaming of the pageant is symbolic of the new direction that the pageant is headed to


Your Blogger hopes that part of the new direction will be the adoption of a cause or advocacy and that whoever will be named Miss Bohol this year will be required to support the advocacy whether it’s women’s health, the environment or cultural heritage preservation.

This would ensure that her reign would become more meaningful and relevant.

So who will be this year’s Miss Bohol?

Your Blogger will be here to bring you the updates! 

For the complete list of Miss Bohol winners, here's the link:

Extra Special Blog Feature

Part 1: The Tragic Story of Amparo Munoz

  no fairy tale ending SPAIN CONQUERED THE PHILIPPINES AGAIN. Whenever discussions and debates center on who is considered as the m...